Overview of the "General" section in "Options
Job type can be one of the three choices below.
- Synchronize (2-way):
Propagate changes from Left to Right and from Right to Left. Ensures that the content will be kept identical on both sides.
- Backup Left to Right (1-way) (default):
Propagate changes only from the Left sync folder to the Right sync folder.
- Backup Right to Left (1-way):
Propagate changes only from the Right sync folder to the Left sync folder.
Propagate Deletions (checked by default)
If checked, deletions made by the user on one side of the job are propagated to the other side.
If unchecked, deletions are not propagated, only changed files are propagated.
This modifier applies only to 1-way jobs.
Create left/right Sync folders if they are not found (off by default)
If checked, GoodSync will create left/right sync folders if they are not present.
If unchecked, an error message will be shown on Analyze if the chosen sync folders are not present.
Save deleted/replaced files to Recycle Bin, last version only (checked by default)
If checked, GoodSync retains the previous version of any modified file in the _gsdata_\_saved_ folder on the side of the job where the replacement occurs. For a 1-way job, this will be the "Destination" folder. For a 2-way job, this will be the "Source" folder. Deleted files will also be placed into the _gsdata_\_saved_ folder for recovery purposes.
If this option is unchecked, replaced/deleted files are removed permanently.
Only the most recent version of the file (the one just before the current version) is retained.
NOTE: _gsdata_ is a hidden folder. You must check the Show Hidden Files option in Windows Explorer to view the contents of this folder.
Cleanup _saved_ folder after this many days (checked by default, 30 days)
If checked, all files placed in _gsdata_\_saved_ folder will be purged after the specified number of days.
If not checked, all files in _gsdata_\_saved_ folder will be kept indefinitely.
Save deleted/replaced files to History folder, multiple versions (off by default)
If checked, GoodSync retains a version for every modification made to a file. These versions are saved to the _gsdata_\_history_ folder on the side of the job where the replacement occurs. A timestamp is added to the file name before its extension so multiple versions of the file can be saved. The directory structure is preserved. Deleted files will also be placed into this folder for recovery purposes. This option cannot be used together with the "Save deleted/replaced files, last version only" option.
Cleanup _history_ folder after this many days (off by default, 30 days)
If checked, all files placed in _gsdata_\_history_ folder will be purged after specified number of days.
If unchecked, all files in _gsdata_\_history_ folder will be kept indefinitely.
Total Seconds for Reconnect Attempts (120 by default)
Total seconds allowed for Reconnect attempts when the file system disconnects or returns connection errors.
If the file operation fails after this many seconds of retries, the file system is declared disconnected and the entire job fails.
Run parallel Threads in Sync (off by default)
If checked, then Sync will be run using the specified number of parallel threads. Using this option speeds up file transfer for remote servers that have high latency. It does not increase speed, however, if your bandwidth is used up by a single-thread sync.
If unchecked or 0, then run sync in one sequential thread.
Example of when it helps: uploading many small files to an FTP, GSTP, SFTP, or WebDAV server.
Example of when it does not help: uploading several large files to an FTP, GSTP, SFTP, or WebDAV server.
File Copy Speed Limit in KBytes/sec (0 by default)
If not zero, then limit the file copy speed by the specified value in KBytes/sec.
When the average file copy speed in Sync exceeds the specified threshold, GoodSync suspends jobs for 1 second until the effective average speed falls below the limit.
Max Time to Run (min)
If checked and not zero then limit duration of this Job will run to the specified number of minutes. Analyze, Sync, or Analyze + Sync are limited by the specified number of minutes. Both manual and Auto runs are subject to this limit, if specified.
Shutdown Computer After Job Finished
If checked then GoodSync will shutdown this Computer after this Job has finished Sync with no errors. Both manual and Auto job runs are subject to this option, if specified.
Display Balloon messages
This option controls if and when balloon (system tray) messages are displayed.
Do not display balloon messages.
- On Conflicts and Errors (default):
Display balloon messages only when Conflicts or Errors are detected during Analyze or Sync.
- On Changes and Sync:
Display balloon messages when Analyze detects Changes, Conflicts or Errors.