Overview of the "Left Side/Right Side" Sections in "Options"
These options are specific to the Left and Right sync folders, not to the job as a whole.
NOTE: Both the Left and Right Side contain the same set of available options. The screenshots below are all from the Left Side menu, but the explanation of each option applies to both Left and Right Sides.
What Makes Files Differ
Compare Checksums when needed (slower) (un-checked by default)
If checked, GoodSync will compare the MD5 checksum of the old file to the new file if the file size has not changed but the file mod time has. If the MD5 checksum of the file differs, but the File Size and File Mod Time are the same, GoodSync will declare a conflict. After Sync, verify that the checksum of the copied file is the same on both sides.
If unchecked, the file is only considered to be changed if the File Size or File Mod Time have changed.
Compare Attributes (Windows only, un-checked by default)
If checked, changes in the file/folder Attributes are detected by GoodSync even when the file body does not change.
If unchecked, Attributes are copied only when the changed file is copied.
Compare Owner (un-checked by default)
If checked, changes in the file owner are detected even when the file body does not change.
If unchecked, File Owner is copied only when file body has changed.
Compare ACL (un-checked by default)
If checked, changes in the ACL are detected by GoodSync even when the file body does not change.
If unchecked, the ACL is copied only when the file body has changed.
Exotic Options (advanced users only)
No _gsdata_ folder here (un-checked by default)
If checked, GoodSync will not create the _GSDATA_ folder in the sync folder on the Left/Right side of the job. Instead, it will create the _GSDATA_ folder in the GoodSync profile folder on this computer.
If unchecked, create the _GSDATA_ folder in the sync folder.
NOTE: This option should be used only in situations where writing to the sync folder is impossible or undesirable (For example, read-only source side of a 1-way job). Use this option only for sync folders that are not synced with any other folder (by any other job on this or another computer).
If this option is checked, these other options cannot be used:
- Save Previous/Past Version
- Save History
Do Not List Folders During Analyze (un-checked by default, formerly Fast Pre-Analyze)
If checked, GoodSync will not list folders to see what's in them during Analyze. Instead, trust the GoodSync state file to provide file listings.
If unchecked, perform full Analyze.
This option can be used if only GoodSync (not you or another program) changes files in the folder and sub-folders on this side.
NOTE: Misuse of this option can result in data corruption or loss. For advanced users only.
Safe Copy using temporary files (checked by default)
If checked, GoodSync will not copy the source file directly to the destination file on this side, as an interrupt mid-sync would corrupt the file. Instead, GoodSync will copy the source file to the temporary file in the destination folder and once the copy operation is finished, the temporary file is renamed to the destination file.
You may uncheck this option if you are performing 1-way backups and the destination volume has limited free space.
This option is available only for file systems that do not have atomic upload (atomic upload means that until the upload is complete, interrupting will revert to the previous version of a file).
Client Side Encryption options
These options control the file name and the file body encryption that GoodSync can perform on the client side.
Encrypt File Bodies and Names (un-checked by default)
If checked, GoodSync will encrypt file bodies before uploading them to this Left/Right folder. AES with 256-bit key is used for encryption, with all file blocks chained. Random salt is applied, so different encryptions of the same file will produce different results. The file's size will increase by exactly 32 bytes.
Encryption Password (empty by default)
This is the password used to encrypt file bodies and/or Names. You must memorize this password, or use RoboForm to store it in a Safenote.