This is an overview of the "Advanced" section in Job Options.
Copy File Creation Time (checked by default)
If checked then GoodSync will copy both the creation and modification time of the file/folder.
If not checked then GoodSync will copy only the modification time of the file/folder.
Copy Attributes (Windows-to-Windows only, checked by default)
If checked then GoodSync will copy file/folder Attributes (Hidden, System, ReadOnly, and Archive).
If not checked then GoodSync will assign the normal Attribute to copied files.
Copy Owner (Mac-to-Mac or NFTS-to-NFTS only, un-checked by default)
If checked then GoodSync will copy the file/folder owner.
If not checked then GoodSync assigns the current owner to copied files.
Copy ACL (NFTS-to-NFTS only, un-checked by default)
If checked then GoodSync will copy file/folder Access Control List (ACL).
If not checked then GoodSync will assign an empty ACL to copied files.
Move Mode: Delete Source after Copy (1-way Jobs, un-checked by default)
After file is copied from source folder to destination folder, GoodSync will delete it. This is equivalent to Moving a file from the source to the destination. If source folder becomes empty as a result of such deletions, it is also deleted. To be used only by advanced users.
Move Mode: Delete Empty Folders after Copy (un-checked by default, disabled by default - must check "Move Mode: Delete Source after Copy" to enable)
After "Move Mode: Delete Source File after Copy" completes its work, GoodSync will also delete the folder if it becomes empty. To be used only by advanced users.
Copy Locked Files using VSS Snapshots (checked by default)
If checked then GoodSync will copy from locked files using Volume Shadow Service (VSS).
If not checked then GoodSync will return a "Cannot Copy Locked File" error for locked files.
Available on Windows XP, Vista, 7, 8, 10 and later. Does not work in GoodSync2Go.
NOTE: GoodSync can copy only FROM a locked file and never TO a locked file. GoodSync can copy only from locked file on local disk, never from a network-mounted locked file.
Uber-Unlocked Mode (un-checked by default)
If checked, GoodSync may delete or move source files during upload, as GoodSync does not lock them in any way. GoodSync will notice right away that the deletion/move occurred and it will not continue uploading. To be used only by advanced users.
Detect File and Folder Moves and Renames (checked by default)
If checked, GoodSync will detect if a file or folder is moved or renamed and execute them as such, not as a deletion and recreation. Folder moves are detected when all files inside a folder are moved to the same destination folder.
NOTE: If a folder contains two or more files that are exactly the same per file size and file mod time, then renaming or moving those files or their parent folders cannot be detected.
Estimate disk space required for Sync (checked by default)
If checked then GoodSync will compute how much free disk space is needed to complete the Sync.
Compare Checksums of All Files (slow) (un-checked by default)
If checked then GoodSync will compare the MD5 checksum of all files on the Left and Right. If the MD5 checksum of the file differs where File Size and File Mod Time are the same, GoodSync will declare a conflict. After Sync, verify that the checksum of the copied file is the same on both sides.
If unchecked, GoodSync will consider a file to be changed if its File Size or File Mod Time has changed.
This option determines how symbolic links to files and folders are processed by GoodSync.
Symbolic links and junctions are ignored and not copied in any way.
- Copy as is:
Symbolic links to files/folders are copied to the destination folder.
- Drill Down:
Target file/folder of symbolic link is copied to the destination folder.